TL;DR
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific change. In the same week, OpenAI set limits on sharing paid accounts and said ChatGPT and Codex will use one shared allowance from December, while also increasing some plan limits.
Elon Musk said on November 1 that the cost of serving Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI announced new limits on paid-account sharing and a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance starting in December. The moves point to a growing gap between a flat monthly subscription price and the amount of AI work a customer can actually use, though neither company has disclosed enough detail to establish how much typical customers will be affected.
Musk’s comment came in reply to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users reported that their usage ran out quickly that week. Musk gave no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not specify whether xAI had changed the usage pool, planned a price change or would reset allowances. His post referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s task-running agent, rather than Grok chat generally.
According to xAI’s pricing information described in the source material, Grok Bot is included with certain paid X subscription tiers and draws from a shared weekly usage pool. xAI says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested. A short chat and an agent working through a longer task can therefore consume different amounts, even under the same subscription.
OpenAI’s help information says limits now apply to how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one payment card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans; OpenAI has not published a numerical cap. Separately, the company says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. Unlimited Instant chats are outside that shared meter, according to the source.
OpenAI also increased some allowances during the same week. On October 29, it announced doubled Work and Codex usage for Pro 100 and Pro 500, and cancelled a planned reduction for Pro 200, according to the source material. That means the changes do not amount to a simple across-the-board cut: some limits are being tightened or consolidated, while some higher-tier allowances are increasing.
AI subscriptions · November 2026
What the AI Flat Rate Debate Means for You
Grok’s serving costs and OpenAI’s account rules point to a changing reality for fixed-price plans: the monthly fee may not tell you how much AI work you can use.
Subscriptions meet usage meters
Both developments underline a gap between a flat monthly price and the work a customer can actually run. Task length, model choice and plan rules can all affect how fast an allowance is used.
Agent work varies
Grok Bot is included in certain paid X tiers and draws from a shared weekly pool. Usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the task, so a multi-step job can use more than a short chat.
Sharing gets limits
Rules apply to Go, Plus and Pro paid accounts across devices and payment methods. OpenAI has not published a numerical cap in the cited information.
ChatGPT + Codex
Plus, Pro and Business customers will use one allowance across both products from December. Unlimited Instant chats are outside that shared meter.
The fee is only one part of the plan.
Before upgrading, check which tools share a pool, what counts against it, when usage resets and what happens at the limit. For businesses, shared pools and multi-step agents can make seat-based budgeting harder. Published model rates alone do not reveal a typical monthly customer cost.
From subscription price to real-world use
Monthly plan
You pay a recurring subscription price for access to a set of tools.
Tasks consume use
Longer or more involved agent work can draw more from an allowance.
Tools overlap
ChatGPT and Codex will draw on one pool for eligible OpenAI plans.
Check the limits
Actual value depends on reset periods, allowance size and your usage.
OpenAI changes do not all point one way
Several changes landed in the same week, with different effects. They should not be read as one uniform cut in access.
Some allowances increased
OpenAI doubled Work and Codex usage for Pro 100 and Pro 500, and cancelled a planned reduction for Pro 200.
One allowance is planned
Plus, Pro and Business usage across ChatGPT and Codex will share an allowance. Its size and allocation details were not provided.
“We are currently losing money on OpenAI Pro subscriptions! People use it much more than we expected.”
Sam Altman · X · January 2025“How fast you use your usage depends on the kind of work you give Grok Bot and how much effort each task takes.”
xAI · Grok Bot usage guidanceEarlier statements show provider cost concerns, but do not establish the economics of current plans.
Context · Prior plan historyLimits and costs are still unspecified
The announcements do not establish how much a typical customer will be affected—or that subscriptions are ending.
Grok Bot’s next step
Musk did not name costs, revenue, margins, a changed allowance, a reset, or a price change. His comment was about Grok Bot, not Grok chat generally.
OpenAI’s sharing cap
The cited help information does not give a numerical cap for accounts per device or subscriptions per payment card or device.
Shared allowance details
The pool’s size, how use is allocated between ChatGPT and Codex, and what happens when it is reached are not specified.
Reported allocation post
A separate Grok account post about “adjusted allocations” and a dashboard fault is reported in the source material but was not independently confirmed.
Read the plan terms as they update
Practical impact depends on plan terms and how much work you run. The announcements describe limits within subscriptions, not a confirmed move to pay-as-you-go pricing.
- For individualsCheck usage information before upgrading or buying additional access. Review what work counts and which products share an allowance.
- For businessesAsk providers for written details on shared pools, reset periods, usage limits and what happens when a team reaches its allowance.
- For DecemberOpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled to begin in December 2026. xAI has given no change date in the cited material.
Key questions
What the cited announcements do—and do not—say.
Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No. He said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue, without describing a usage, pricing or reset change.
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will share an allowance starting in December 2026. The allowance size was not given.
Which plans have account-sharing limits?
The reported rules cover Go, Plus and Pro. No numerical cap was published in the cited material.
Are subscriptions becoming pay-as-you-go?
The cited announcements do not establish that. They show fixed-price plans can include shared pools and practical usage rules.
Subscriptions Meet Usage Meters
For customers, the monthly price alone may give an incomplete picture of how much work a plan supports. Task length, model choice and usage rules can affect how quickly an allowance is consumed. A customer comparing plans may need to check which tools share a pool, what work counts against it and whether heavy use triggers an upgrade or additional charges.
For businesses, combining a seat price with usage-based limits can make budgeting harder, particularly when teams use agents that perform multi-step work. OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is one example of tools drawing on a common pool. The source material also notes that OpenAI’s model rates vary substantially by model, but provides no basis to calculate a typical customer’s monthly cost from that fact alone.
The developments do not establish that flat-rate AI subscriptions are ending. They do show that “unlimited” access can coexist with practical limits, shared allowances or usage rules. The effect on customers will depend on plan terms and how much they use the services.
Products Worth Considering

Bose SoundLink Plus Portable Bluetooth Speaker, Black

Samsung 49-Inch Odyssey G93SC QD-OLED Curved Gaming Monitor

Logitech MX Brio Ultra HD 4K Webcam, Graphite
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Recent Plan Changes at OpenAI
OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, advertising “unlimited access” to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That statement is an earlier example of a provider describing the cost pressure associated with heavy use; it does not establish the economics of the current plans.
In the week before Musk’s November 1 post, OpenAI made several changes with different effects. It increased certain Work and Codex allowances, set limits on account sharing and announced that ChatGPT and Codex would share an allowance from December. The changes affect different parts of the service, so they should not be read as one uniform reduction in access.
The source material says xAI launched its X Subscription on October 12, 2026, with Grok Bot included in selected paid tiers. It also reports that some outlets interpreted Musk’s use of the past tense, “was,” as suggesting a cost change had already occurred. That is an interpretation of his wording, not confirmation from Musk that a specific limit had changed.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, in a reply on X on November 1, 2026
Limits and Costs Still Unspecified
Musk did not say what costs or revenues prompted his post, whether xAI had already adjusted Grok Bot allowances, or whether it plans a reset, price change or new limit. The source material refers to a separate post from Grok’s official account about “adjusted allocations” and a dashboard fault, but says the original post could not be located. That account therefore remains reported, not independently confirmed here.
OpenAI has not published the numerical cap on paid accounts per device, card or device used to buy subscriptions. The exact size of the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance, how it will be allocated between products, and what happens when a customer reaches it are also not specified in the source material. The practical effect of these rules for an individual user remains unclear.
Watch for Updated Plan Terms
OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled to begin in December 2026. Customers will need to consult the company’s help pages and plan details as implementation approaches for the allowance size and how usage is counted. xAI has not given a date for any change to Grok Bot limits or pricing in the material cited here.
For now, users can check their service’s usage information before upgrading or buying additional access. Businesses weighing subscriptions should ask providers for written details on shared pools, reset periods and usage limits. Those details would help determine whether the monthly seat price matches the work a team expects to run.
Key Questions
Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No specific limit was announced in the cited post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but did not describe a change to usage, pricing or resets.
When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?
OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans will start in December 2026. The source material does not give the allowance’s size.
Which OpenAI plans are subject to the account-sharing limits?
The reported help-center rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans. OpenAI has not published a numerical cap on accounts per device or subscriptions per card or device in the cited material.
Are AI subscriptions becoming pay-as-you-go?
The cited announcements do not establish that subscriptions are being replaced by pay-as-you-go pricing. They indicate that fixed-price plans can include shared pools and usage limits, while the exact customer impact depends on each provider’s terms.
Source: Thorsten Meyer AI
